

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE CONSERVATION BOARD FOR THE CHILTERNS AREA OF OUTSTANDING NATURAL BEAUTY

Held at Edlesborough Memorial Hall, High Street, Edlesborough, Dunstable LU6 2HX on Tuesday 14th June 2022 at 10.05am.

MEMBERS PRESENT

Annaintad	by Local	Authorities
Appointed	DV LOCAL	Authorities

Cllr David Bartholomew

Cllr Lynn Lloyd

Cllr Richard Newcombe Cllr Reena Ranger Cllr Gareth Williams

Appointed by the Secretary of State

Colin Courtney Alison Doggett

Paul Mainds

John Nicholls Elizabeth Wilson

Elected by Parish Councils

Cllr John Harfield Cllr Charles Hussey Cllr Sue Rowland Cllr Adrian Watney

CCB Staff

Lynne Cordice Deirdre Hansen Graham Hurst

Other

Tom Beeston Joseph Stewart

Appointing Body

Oxfordshire County Council
South Oxfordshire District Council
Buckinghamshire Council

Hertfordshire County Council
Buckinghamshire Council

Secretary of State Secretary of State

Secretary of State- Chair

Secretary of State- Deputy-Chair

Secretary of State

Bedfordshire Buckinghamshire Oxfordshire Hertfordshire

Senior Administration Officer

Clerk to the Board

Finance Officer (S151 Officer)

Chief Officer Chiltern Society

The S151 Officer welcomed all present and opened the meeting.

1. Election of Chairman

There had been one nomination for the post.

The Board RESOLVED that PAUL MAINDS be elected Chairman of the Board for the ensuing year.

PAUL MAINDS took the CHAIR.

He thanked the members for electing him.

He thanked Clirs Peter Martin, Robert Roche, and Phil Williams, who have been replaced by their Councils, for their contributions to the CCB. He remarked that Alison Doggett will also be leaving the CCB after 9 years' service. He thanked her for her service.

New Board members, Cllr Gareth Williams, Buckinghamshire Council and Joe Stewart, Secretary of Sate appointee were welcomed to the meeting.

2. Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received and accepted from *Cllr Andrea Baughan, Buckinghamshire Council, Cllr Robert Carington, Buckinghamshire Council, Cllr Paul Duckett, Central Bedfordshire Council, *Nick Graham, Monitoring Officer, *Cllr John Griffin, Oxfordshire Parish Councils, Cllr Carl Jackson, Buckinghamshire Council, *Cllr Steve Jarvis, North Hertfordshire District Council, Elaine King, CCB CEO, Geeta Ludhra, Secretary of State appointee, *John Shaw, Secretary of State appointee, *Cllr Sir Hector Sants, Buckinghamshire Parish Councils, *Cllr Jon Tankard, Three Rivers District Council and Ian Waller, Secretary of State appointee. (*Those * listened in on the meeting online*)

3. Election of Deputy Chairman

There had been one nomination for the post.

The Board RESOLVED that John Nicholls be elected Deputy Chairman of the Board for the ensuing year.

He thanked the members for electing him.

4. Declarations of Interest

No declarations of interest were made.

5. Minutes of the meeting 24th April 2022

The minutes had been approved as true record and signed at the board meeting 7th September 2021. The Chairman noted that changes to the Code of Governance can only be made at an AGM. There are some suggested changes on the agenda of the ordinary meeting following this AGM. He suggested that an EGM may be required to approve the proposed changes.

6. Election of Members to the Executive Committee

There had been no volunteers to fill the two vacancies, the Chairman suggested to leave those appointments to the next Board meeting.

The Board RESOLVED that the following members were appointed to the Executive Committee:

Secretary of State Representatives Paul Mainds John Nicholls

Local Authority Representatives Cllr Lynn Lloyd Cllr Richard Newcombe

Parish Council Representatives Cllr John Griffin Cllr Charles Hussey Cllr Sir Hector Sants

7. Election of members to the Planning Committee

There had been no volunteers to fill the vacancy, the Chairman suggested to leave the appointment to the next Board meeting.

The Board RESOLVED that the following members were appointed to the Planning Committee:

Secretary of State Representatives Colin Courtney John Nicholls Elizabeth Wilson

Local Authority Representatives Cllr Lynn Lloyd Cllr Reena Ranger

Parish Council Representatives Cllr Charles Hussey Cllr Sue Rowland Cllr Adrian Watney

8. Date of next meeting

The date of the next meeting June 2023 TBC

The Chairman	Date