

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE CONSERVATION BOARD FOR THE CHILTERNS AREA OF OUTSTANDING NATURAL BEAUTY

Held at the Paralympic Room, The Gateway Offices, Gatehouse Road, Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire HP19 8FF (Buckinghamshire Council Offices) on Tuesday 13th June 2023 following the Ordinary Meeting at 10.00am.

MEMBERS PRESENT

Appointed by Local Authorities

Cllr David Bartholomew Cllr Paula Hiscocks Cllr Steve Jarvis Cllr Jane MacBean Cllr Richard Newcombe Cllr Philip Spicer

Appointed by the Secretary of State

Colin Courtney Secr Paul Mainds Secr Joe Stewart Secr Elizabeth Wilson Secr

Elected by Parish Councils

Cllr John Griffin Cllr John Harfield Cllr Sue Rowland Cllr Sir Hector Sants

CCB Staff

Andrew Brock-Doyle Deirdre Hansen Graham Hurst Elaine King Eloise Small Matt Thomson Annette Weiss

Other

Sarah Wright

Central Bedfordshire Council

Appointing Body

Oxfordshire County Council

Buckinghamshire Council Buckinghamshire Council

Hertfordshire County Council

North Hertfordshire District Council

Secretary of State Secretary of State Secretary of State Secretary of State

Oxfordshire Bedfordshire Oxfordshire Buckinghamshire

Head of Operations Clerk to the Board

Finance Officer (S151 Officer)

Chief Executive Officer Administration Officer

Head of Strategy & Planning

Head of Engagement & Partnerships

National Trails Project Officer

The CEO, Elaine King opened the AGM. She thanked the outgoing Chair, Paul Mainds, for all his support and help during a busy and sometimes challenging two years. He will be missed.

1. Election of Chairman

There had been one nomination for the post. Colin Courtney was proposed and seconded for the post of Chairman of the CCB for the year 2023/24.

The Board RESOLVED that Colin Courtney be elected Chairman of the Board for the ensuing year.

Colin Courtney took the CHAIR.

He thanked the members for electing him.

2. Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received and accepted from *Cllr Robert Carington, Buckinghamshire Council, *Cllr Lynn Lloyd, South Oxfordshire District Council, Geeta Ludhra, Secretary of State appointee, * John Nicholls, Secretary of State appointee, Cllr Robert Roche, Luton Borough Council, *John Shaw, Secretary of State appointee, Cllr Sally Symington, Dacorum Borough Council, Cllr Jon Tankard, Three Rivers District Council, Ian Waller, Secretary of State appointee, Cllr Adrian Watney, Hertfordshire Parish Councils and Cllr Gareth Williams, Buckinghamshire Council. (*Those * listened in on the meeting online*)

Tom Beeston, CEO Chiltern Society and Simon Kearey, Chairman Chiltern Society.

3. Election of Deputy Chairman

There had been one nomination for the post. John Nicholls was proposed and seconded.

The Board RESOLVED that John Nicholls be elected Deputy Chairman of the Board for the ensuing year.

He thanked the members for electing him.

4. Declarations of Interest

No declarations of interest were made.

5. Minutes of the meeting 14th June 2022

The minutes had been approved as true record and signed at the board meeting 6th September 2022.

6. Election/ Appointment of Members to the Executive Committee

The Board RESOLVED that the following members were appointed to the Executive Committee:

Secretary of State Representatives Colin Courtney Paul Mainds John Nicholls Local Authority Representatives Cllr Richard Newcombe Cllr Philip Spicer

Parish Council Representatives Cllr John Griffin Cllr Charles Hussey Cllr Sue Rowland Cllr Sir Hector Sants

7. Election/Appointment of members to the Planning Committee

The Board RESOLVED that the following members were appointed to the Planning Committee:

Secretary of State Representatives John Nicholls

Local Authority Representatives Cllr Paula Hiscocks Cllr Jane MacBean (to be confirmed) Cllr Sally Symington Cllr Jon Tankard

Parish Council Representatives Cllr Charles Hussey Cllr Sue Rowland Cllr Adrian Watkins

One vacancy remaining.

8. Variation to the Code of Governance.

The Clerk, Deirdre Hansen, asked the Board to approve a variation to the Code of Governance agreed 21 April 2021. This will allow for additions or variations to be made at appropriate times, not limiting variations to the Code of Governance to the Annual General Meeting. The CCB's Code of Governance 2 b) "any motion to add or vary this Code of Governance shall be made, proposed and seconded at an Annual General Meeting of the Board". It is proposed to vary 2b) of the Code of Governance to state, "any motion to add or vary this Code of Governance shall be made, proposed and seconded at a full meeting of the Board".

1. The Board APPROVED the variation of 2 b) of the CCB's Code of Governance allowing additions and variations to be made at Full Board Meetings.

9. Date of next meeting

The date of the next meeting June 2024 TBC

CCB Board AGM	Tuesday 13 th June 2023
The Chairman	Date